Other People are Quitting with Chantix too!


Amazing! I have visited some sites today, mainly Maggie’s Mind
She has links to other people who have quit smoking with Chantix and are blogging about it. Thank you Maggie! I am so glad you found me! I love your site!

I need to give a little history about me. First of all, I found out about 6 years ago that I have COPD, Chronic Obstructive Pulminary Disorder, basically a fancy way of saying chronic bronchitis, emphysema, etc. I was told to quit smoking for about the 1,000th time and I listened, got a little scared, and tried again. This went on and on for years. My family begged me to quit, every time I got sick and had to take the prednisone, Advair, Antibiotic and one time I had to use a Nebulizer at home and do breathing treatments. Was that enough! Yes, each time it was enough, I wanted to quit, I was motivated like a lot of people out there that are still smoking are. I couldn’t quit…until today. I have put together 16 “todays”. Chantix has helped me so much. I wasn’t one of those that quit at exactly 8 days. Oh I tried and then I would have one in the morning, one at noon, and one before bed. I thought that was pretty darn good! Three is a lot better than my usual 40 cigs/day. I quit on the 12th day. Those four days I was just torturing myself and extending the withdrawl symptoms. I could have been through with all this four days earlier instead of dragging it out. Once I figured out that “I can’t quit smoking until I QUIT smoking.” Duh!!

2 Responses to “Other People are Quitting with Chantix too!”

  1. maggie Says:

    Thanks for the mention, and I’m glad you found some of the other Chantixers 😉

    I didn’t quit until Chantix Day 13, but that was ahead of the Day 15 deadline I gave myself. I knew one week was pushing it but that longer than two weeks would be too long for me. From there I stayed on the full 12 weeks and feel like it was a good thing for me.

    There are some others among us with similar lung issues (I managed to dodge that bullet as far as I know), and quitting smoking has to be the best choice in the world. I do hope you will keep blogging!

  2. Eileen Says:

    Hey Maggie, thanks for the words of encouragement. I am going to try to blog every day. I think I am addicted to it! Once an addict always an addict! it sure is a lot better than smoking.

    I’m sorry about the crazy weather out there. Are you in the flooded area?

    Take care!


Leave a Reply

