Weaning off Chantix


Today is smoke free day 17.

Of All the times I’ve tried to start a blog and keep it up, I never dreamed that the one thing that would get me writing again would be quitting smoking. I’ve missed writing. Being a free lance reporter for a few years was wonderful. At the time I was working three jobs and taking classes at the junior college. My children were in 4th and 5th grade and “busy” was an understatement. Then life got crazy and so did I and lost the little bit of progress I had made at that time toward becoming a more spiritual person. Well, better late than never. Like that song by Brooks & Dunn, “God blessed the broken road….” Isn’t that the truth. Anyway, I think I am addicted to blogging. Last night when I went to sleep I was thinking about what I wanted to write about. Of course this morning it was completely gone and my mind was a blank.

Any way, not smoking with Chantix is unbelievable! I have been on it 4 weeks and I can’t afford to get more so I am weaning myself off of it. I was forgetting my evening pill anyway, so I just decided to make it last and take only one in the morning. This is the 3rd day of that and so far so good. Actually, I’m not having the wierd “smoking” dreams at night anymore. Did anyone else have that? Wow! They were so real that when I woke up I was so relieved that it was a dream and I didn’t really smoke! It was kind of scarey. I hope it’s not too early to go off of it. I know you are supposed to stay on it 12 weeks but a guy I work with was only on it 2 weeks and quit taking it and is still smoke free after 3 months. I really don’t have any choice anyway because Christmas is coming and my money will have to go for that.

Now, my mantras for today are, “I’m happier as a non-smoker”, and “I know I can stay quit.”

Ta Ta For Now…

Leave a Reply

