Reasons to Stay Quit


Today is smoke free day 18.

Staying with the theme from my Chantix GetQuit.com program, below are some reasons they listed to stay quit. I am going to add my own.

  • Secondhand smoke is bad for my family.
  • I’ll increase my risk for lung cancer and heart disease.
  • I’ll have less energy.
  • I’ll smell like smoke and have bad breath.
  • I made a promise to myself.
  • I made a promise to my friend or partner.
  • Smoking makes me look older.
  • I’ll spend too much money on it.

I have so many reasons its hard to know where to start. The biggest reason is I don’t want to die before I become a Grandma. My daughter is 20 and my son is 22 and neither one is dating anyone at the moment so it could be a while before I can become a Grandmother. That’s okay, I don’t want them to rush into anything, so I better plan on living a longer than I ever thought I would.

I have always been a rebel. I started smoking to “show my Dad”, he hated it and never smoked himself. My Mother died at the age of 38 of carcinoma of the throat. Evidently she was a smoker. I didn’t know her at all, she left us when I was 2 years old. Living past the age of 38 for me was quite an accomplishment. I drank, smoked and lived like there was no tomorrow. Everyone said I was just like my Mother. I look like her and act like her. This is not a compliment from what I’ve learned about her. I am still doing research on her life and it’s really kind of sad. I’ll tell more about her later.

Anyway, I was told at the age of 39 that I would be on Oxygen by the time I was 50 if I didn’t quit smoking. I had a Dr. explain it to me that some people can smoke and some people can’t, I one that can’t. So for the last 11 years I have been trying to quit. It just didn’t line up with the way I wanted to live. Living my life as a healthy person just didn’t jive with smoking. It was like it wasn’t in line with my true self. I’ve always watched what I eat, excercised, riding my bike, walking with my dog on nature trails, hiking in the woods, camping out, fishing, etc. All the things I love to do and smoking just didn’t fit in. It was getting to the point that I couldn’t even take Sonny on our 2.5 mile walk in the mornings because I was too tired, worn out, exhausted, because I couldn’t breathe. I went to the Dr. and he said that the way I felt would be the way I was going to feel all the time, or worse, if I continued to smoke. He also asked me why I didn’t like the Chantix, because I had tried it two times before. Well, I said, It makes me depressed. Is that the funniest thing you ever heard. “It makes me depressed.” This man had just told me, after looking at my x-ray, that my lungs are almost to the point of no return. Now we wouldn’t want to get “depressed” would we. No we would rather die!! Too funny! Denial is a funny thing. Anyway, when I told the Dr. that I get depressed on Chantix, he just said, well theat is good as an excuse as any. That pissed me off. Being the rebel that I am I thought, he doesn’t think I can quit. Then I thought of my best friend Cindy who, when I told her I would have too have all my teeth pulled and get dentures, or… see the dentist once a week and spend $8,000 to have my teeth fixed, and quit smoking, she said, “well, we know that isn’t going to happen.” That pissed me off. So in my mind I’m thinking, I’ll show them, I’ll quit smoking! So I started my Chantix on November 9th. Quit smoking on November 19th.

Whatever got me started doesn’t matter I guess. Just so I keep reminding my self of the reasons to stay quit. My Mantra today is, “I am a healthy and fit non-smoker.”

Leave a Reply

