How Fast is My Body Healing from Smoking?


When Smokers Quit—The Health Benefits Over Time

The above link takes you to the American Cancer Society. Below are excerpts from that page.

This was exciting news for me to see that even after only 20 minutes or 12 hours my body is repairing itself.

20 minutes after quitting: Your heart rate and blood pressure drops.
(Effect of Smoking on Arterial Stiffness and Pulse Pressure Amplification, Mahmud, A, Feely, J. 2003. Hypertension:41:183.)

12 hours after quitting: The carbon monoxide level in your blood drops to normal.
(US Surgeon General’s Report, 1988, p. 202)

2 weeks to 3 months after quitting: Your circulation improves and your lung function increases.
(US Surgeon General’s Report, 1990, pp.193, 194,196, 285, 323)

1 to 9 months after quitting: Coughing and shortness of breath decrease; cilia (tiny hair-like structures that move mucus out of the lungs) regain normal function in the lungs, increasing the ability to handle mucus, clean the lungs, and reduce the risk of infection.
(US Surgeon General’s Report, 1990, pp. 285-287, 304)

1 year after quitting: The excess risk of coronary heart disease is half that of a smoker’s.
(US Surgeon General’s Report, 1990, p. vi)

5 years after quitting: Your stroke risk is reduced to that of a nonsmoker 5 to 15 years after quitting.
(US Surgeon General’s Report, 1990, p. vi)

10 years after quitting: The lung cancer death rate is about half that of a continuing smoker’s. The risk of cancer of the mouth, throat, esophagus, bladder, cervix, and pancreas decrease.
(US Surgeon General’s Report, 1990, pp. vi, 131, 148, 152, 155, 164,166)

15 years after quitting: The risk of coronary heart disease is that of a non-smoker’s.
(US Surgeon General’s Report, 1990, p. vi)


AddThis Feed Button

8 Responses to “How Fast is My Body Healing from Smoking?”

  1. Narnie Says:

    I just tripped across your page by accident but (and I promise you I have no link with it) but I gave up smoking thanks to the quitnet site. Have you tried it? It was some kind of weird responsibility not to let my friends down by lighting up. The worst thing is I did start again when life just got too nasty and I didn’t feel I could tell them so I just left. Anyhow – if you are interested, while I was there it was the greatest motivation to me stopping smoking and had loads of info like this on the forums and in the chatroom. Good luck – I really hope you achieve it. I shall be trying again this year.

  2. emctara57 Says:

    Thanks Narnie! I will check out the site. Your words of hope are encouraging to me. Please don’t wait too long to try again. Chantix works, trust me on this one. I have tried to quit for many years and used every trick in the book, you name it and I’ve tried it. Nothing worked until now. I can’t explain it but Chantix is like a miracle drug. Please give it a try. It works. Keep me posted on how you are doing! I will support you all I can. Good Luck to you!

  3. Quitting Smoking-FAQs « Boomer Lady’s Babbling Says:

    […] Answer: Click here to read my post . […]

  4. clem Says:

    You’re quite right about the benefits of stopping smoking. From what i’ve read, at 10 years your risk of cancer is actually equal to that of the normal population, so that is something to look forward to.

  5. RaiulBaztepo Says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  6. PiterKokoniz Says:

    Hi ! 😉
    My name is Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that I’v found your blog very interesting
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Tnx!
    Your Piter

  7. EMC Says:

    Yes, it is one of my hobbies.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    I just stop smoking this week and I feel great! Thank you so much for helping people become smoke free.


Leave a Reply

