Four new anti-smoking strategies


Smoke Free 11 Days!

I am back among the living. They only pulled four teeth this time. I go back January 31st for the rest of the uppers. If you are not sure what I am babbling about now, check out my previous post, Gum Disease & Smoking, It’s so Glamorous.

Today I am feeling almost normal! Tylenol has been working great and it was definitely NOT FUN. Yesterday I felt like I had been kicked in the jaws by a horse.

CNN-Health

  • Short bursts of activity can help quell cravings
  • Online groups offer encouragement anytime you need it
  • New medication works on the brain’s pleasure center
  • Some are using the patch (under doctor care) just before quitting

Now, CNN had this story, (above), in their Health section. They are calling these “New” but, for those of us in the trenches of quitting smoking and trying to kick the nicotine addiction, there is nothing “new” here. I thought for any newbies that are just learning about some anti-smoking strategies, these would be a big help.

The story does mention Chantix, and Quitnet.net,

Both are excellent suggestions in my opinion. The only scary thing is the part about “smoking while on the patch.” I would not recommend doing that, without talking to your “well educated on quit smoking aides” Doctor.


TTFN


AddThis Feed Button

4 Responses to “Four new anti-smoking strategies”

  1. Lynn Says:

    Hi Emctara57!

    32 days and counting!

    Hope all is well and the pain from the extractions subsides.

    Like I said, I don’t know much about photography or cameras although I have always wanted to learn. I just bought a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3. I checked out a few of your sites on photography and decided to learn! Check out the 3 pictures i posted on Flickr. LAZ56. Any advice from you? Where should I start? Stay SMOKE FREE! 🙂

  2. Narnie Says:

    So you joined the Quitnet then huh? Im pleased – it will certainly help.

  3. emctara57 Says:

    Yes, it is great with a lot of good information. Are you planning on trying to quit again sometime?

  4. emctara57 Says:

    Lynn,

    I am 14 days smoke free:)
    Good choice on the camera. There has been a ton of good reviews on it. I tried to see your Flickr Pics but I couldn’t find you. If you go to my flicker at http://flickr.com/photos/emctara/ and add me as a contact or post a comment on one of my pics, then I will be able to click back to you.
    I hope you are doing well, I haven’t heard from you for ever! Stay in touch and let me know how it’s going.


Leave a Reply

