Reaching an Exercise Plateau


I was reading a post from a fellow blogger called Here we go again. She is taking a walk every day, eating less, and not losing any weight.

Well, I can attest to this happening to me. My daughter is a beautiful, healthy girl that did track, (long distance runner, the 1 mile and 2 mile, placed in the top 6 in the state track meet), and knows about working out. She told me that if I ride my bike everyday those muscles will get used to it and you don’t build up any different muscles. As we all know muscle burns fat, right? So this makes sense to me and I start mixing it up a little and walk three days and ride my bike two. Wow, what a difference that made.

Now that I have joined the gym, I try to go 3 times a week, (M,W,F) and maybe once on the weekend. I will do the treadmill one day, the recumbent bike the next and the ellipticals the next. That takes care of all my cardio for the week. Then I do the weight machines every day that I am there, (3 times a week.) On the weekend I do what I want. If I don’t go to the gym then I ride my bike at least 7 miles, or Sonny and I will walk both days, (S, Su) about 6 miles each day.

The nice thing about mixing it up is you don’t get bored. If I had to walk every day and that was all I did, I would be bored pretty quick. I get bored pretty easily. Since I have quit smoking I have gained 16 lbs. Unfortunately, I have not been able to make it to the gym 3 times a week, mostly once a week for the last four weeks. With the holidays and the bad icy weather we had, it just didn’t happen. Now that my teeth are healing up, I can make it this week. I am going back to work tomorrow so the party is over.

Here are some more tips from Googobits:

You have to change things around

If you’ve hit an exercise plateau, you need to change your routine. You can do this in one of three ways:

  • Do it more
  • Do it with more intensity
  • Do something different

Exercise more

If you have the time, this is an easy way to revitalize your exercise routine. If you walk half an hour a day, walk for forty five minutes instead. If you swim twice a week, go three times instead.

Exercise with more intensity

If you take a daily stroll, walk more vigorously. If you already walk vigorously, consider jogging. If you do aerobic or dance, make your movements larger.

Do something different

If you walk every day but don’t get any other kind of exercise, you probably have great calf muscles, but weak arms. A couple of times a week, instead of taking your usual walk, try some exercise that involves using your arms. Go swimming, play tennis or handball.


AddThis Feed Button

Leave a Reply

