Back at Work, MacBook Air™ Released, and Gratitude for Quitting Smoking


Back at work today! Everyone is talking about the release of the MacBook Air™. Of course, I work in Information Technology so it seems to be all the buzz with the staff around here. Wow, it is the thinnest laptop ever and I am just amazed myself. I am a PC person and Macs are peaking my interest more these days. Hmmmm we’ll have to see where that takes me.

Enough about IT/work stuff. My mouth seems to be healing pretty well from having my teeth pulled last Thursday. Periodontal Disease is just one more thing I have to thank cigarettes for. I have been running around to all my smoker friends, (they hate me now, because I’m so happy being 14 days smoke free and I’m usually skipping off to the gym as I pass them by), telling them the good news about our Insurance Company covering the Chantix now. That was their last excuse to not quit. Oh, I can’t afford that much money every month. Actually, the Chantix cost about the same as my cigs did every month. Anyway, I just smile and say, “whenever you are ready!” It is wonderful being able to “skip” without getting winded. So many things I have to be grateful for. Oh no, I’m going to start gushing. Oh well, I haven’t done that for a while so here goes.

My Gratitude List

  1. The disgusting smoker’s cough is gone!! I don’t even have that little rattle anymore. My voice is almost melodic when I speak, not that “deep old lady voice” I used to have. When I do cough it is such a little wimpy cough, I can’t help but laugh at it.
  2. I’m not all full of that awful phlegm anymore.
  3. I drink a ton of water and only one 20 oz diet coke a day. Two 2-liters a day of diet coke was the norm. For some reason, the caffeine left me at the same time the nicotine did. There wasn’t any withdrawal symptoms, headaches, etc. and I am truly grateful for that. Think of the money I am saving on pop alone!!
  4. Speaking of money. I can tell something is not right when I still have $60 in my checking account and it is payday. Now that is very unusual, since I don’t make much money and live paycheck to paycheck. Oh my gosh…what if I can start saving money now! Woo Hoo!
  5. My breath smells nicer and my clothes and of course my car. Actually, I have noticed all kinds of smells since I quit smoking, especially walking downtown past some of the restaurants. 😉 I did buy some air fresheners this last weekend for my house. That is something I have always done but, I can actually smell them now. Some are too strong and I have to unplug them once in a while.
  6. More energy! That’s a big one. I go outside and do things like visit with my neighbor, walk Sonny and not get winded. I can’t wait until Spring so I can smell the fragrances of flowers; the fresh air and the smell of rain.
  7. I am so grateful for the friends I have made online during my quit. All of the support I have gotten just from blogging has been incredible.
  8. This might sound weird but, I am grateful for the little bit of weight I have gained since I quit. At least I don’t look like the walking dead, super skinny, and puffing on a cigarette. I don’t mind having a little extra pouch, (I’ve never had one before), the dog, Sonny, seems to really like it when I am sitting on the couch and he tries to lay in my lap. It will be more comfortable for my grand-kids, whenever I become a grandmother. That was my inspiration to quit smoking, by the way, “To live long enough to become a grandmother!” It’s kind of sad now when I think about it. (I am tearing up here at work, NOT GOOD.) I was so worried I would die before I got to be a grandmother, or see my children graduate college or get married. I want to be there when my daughter delivers her first baby. (Gushing now…) If I die now, even from lung cancer or a smoking related illness, at least I quit smoking.
  9. I am mostly grateful that I QUIT SMOKING!
  10. Last but not least, I am thankful that my Higher Power gave me the strength and grace to overcome this addiction for 14 days of this lifelong journey, one day at a time.Wow! I feel so much better after making this list. Maybe it’s time for you to make your gratitude list, ya think?? I know it sure helped me feel better. Take care of you!I am closing with a picture of my bud, Sonny Boy!

Sonny Boy

TTFN




AddThis Feed Button

One Response to “Back at Work, MacBook Air™ Released, and Gratitude for Quitting Smoking”

  1. » Back at Work, MacBook Air™ Released, and Gratitude for Quitting Smoking Says:

    […] arimcg wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptBack at work today! Everyone is talking about the release of the MacBook Air™. Of course, I work in Information Technology so it seems to be all the buzz with the students and staff around here. Wow, it is the thinnest laptop ever and I am just amazed myself. I am a PC person and Macs are peaking my interest more these days. Hmmmm we’ll have to see where that takes me. Enough about IT/work stuff. My mouth seems to healing pretty well from having my teeth pulled on last Thursday. Periodontal Disease is just one more thing I have to thank cigarettes for. I have been running around to all my smoker friends, (they hate me no™w, because I’m so happy being 14 days smoke free and I’m usually skipping off to the gym as I pass them by), telling them the good news about our Insurance Company covering the […] […]


Leave a Reply

