Smoke Free 15 Days!


Smoke Free 15 Days!

Woo Hoo! I made it past the two week mark. I am so glad I went back on the Chantix after blowing it on New Years Day. Taking one Chantix a day seems to be just the right amount. I’m not so sleepy in the morning that I can’t get up. I went from three alarms back to only one in the morning, even taking 1/2 Chantix at 5:00 or 5:30 p.m. would make me drowsy in the morning. So now that my Insurance is covering the Chantix so it only costs $20, a one month supply will last me two months. That’s okay with me. Whatever I can save is great.

It’s really amazing that I don’t even think about smoking. Sometimes in the mornings, I will remember that I used to smoke but there isn’t any major craving, just a kind of fidgeting/restless feeling. Usually I just take a few really deep breaths and it’s gone. As smokers we took so many deep breaths everyday that our body’s got used to that. So once in a while I will take a really deep breath and I feel so much better. I guess the oxygen going to my brain kind of gives me a “feel good” feeling. I haven’t had any more of those smoking dreams either. I would wake up and think, “Oh No, I blew it!” and then realize that it was a dream. Whew, that was such a big relief.

The habit is definitely gone. I don’t even reach in my purse for “something?”, like I did when I first quit. I would get in my car and start it up and start digging in my purse. Then I would remember that I quit smoking so I won’t find that pack of cigarettes or a lighter in there. It’s a good feeling but, kind of strange. I’m grateful the urge is gone and I’m sure there will be moments like New Year’s day, when I will be crazy again. I hope I am a little better prepared this time though. I’m not looking forward to going off the Chantix after what happend when I went off of it after only 4-weeks. My Doc said I just need to stay on it the full twelve weeks this time and that’s what I am going to do. One day at a time. I don’t have to worry about when I quit the Chantix right now. I tend to borrow trouble like that and forget to keep it in today.

Today was a good day. I didn’t smoke, drink, or overeat. Things are good and I am happier as a non-smoker. I used to say that over and over to myself when I first quit back in November. It was my mantra, “I am happier as a non-smoker,” I would laugh and say, “yeah, right.” Now it is true. That is so cool.

TTFN

AddThis Feed Button

2 Responses to “Smoke Free 15 Days!”

  1. Jane Says:

    Have you noticed any depression with taking Chantix?

  2. scrappingal Says:

    No, nothing MAJOR anyway. I get depressed this time of year anyway, lack of Sunshine. I have not had any depression since I have been on it. It’s when I go off of it I have to watch out. I am on a anti-depressent, Lexapro, so I’m hoping it won’t be anything major.

    I was worried about depression at the start but you know what, it was my excuse, my back door, my justification, to NOT quit smoking. Oh boo hoo! So what if I get a little depressed, I had to make up my mind that I would not smoke unless I was suicidal or was going to drink alcohol,(which for me is death.) So far, it has been working. No suicidal thoughts and no thoughts of drinking again. I am so serious about this that even a thought, a tiny thought, and I will either smoke or get to the Dr. quickly and get on a different anti-depressant or something to keep me sane and safe.

    Good Question! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

