BBC Health News: Smoking Kills Brain Cells


Smoking Kills Brain Cells, BBC Health News

Scientists said they have found the first direct biological evidence that smoking destroys brain cells and stops others being produced.

Now this doesn’t surprise me at all but, to have ‘biological evidence’ is a little scary. This is just another reason to add to a long list of reasons to Quit Smoking Now, or stay with your quit.

The authors said their studies rebutted previous research in the 1990s that suggested that smoking could boost cognitive performance.

There goes that excuse for lighting up! When I was smoking it seemed like it would lift me out of the fog, when I couldn’t concentrate on what I was working on. I would get up from my desk, put on my coat, and walk down the hall and outside into the brisk cool air, light up that cigarette and take a deep puff, and all of a sudden my mind would clear and the problem I was having would be solved. I was sure it was the cigarette doing that for me. As it turns out, I can get the same effect today by walking away from whatever project I am working on, walk down the hall, out into the crisp cool air and take in a deep breath of fresh air. Ahhhhhh, my mind is clear and the problem I was having is solved. It is wonderful to know that I don’t have to depend on a drug to ‘boost my cognitive performance’ when I have been staring at the same problem too long. I can solve the problem the old fashioned way, a nice long walk and some oxygen to my brain.

AddThis Feed Button

Sphere It Sphere It Content

One Response to “BBC Health News: Smoking Kills Brain Cells”

  1. consbookcgist Says:

    “This is just another reason to add to a long list of reasons to Quit Smoking Now, or stay with your quit.”
    Can more?


Leave a Reply

