What I Wrote about Quitting Smoking from 2004


What’s it going to take? What is your “bottom” with cigs? Cancer/death – you already have COPD Lung Disease-Pneumonia-Emphysema, Chronic bronchitis. If you can’t stop now you won’t be able to stop when you go lower – oxygen-chemotherapy-cancer. You think you control smoking just like alcohol – When I get that bad I’ll quit – Like I have a choice or control over when I will quit. Drinking bottom was when I looked at myself in the mirror with my unmanageable destructive-chaotic life in front of me and finally realized, “I can’t stop.” With cigs I’ve always said, I’ll quit – just right now.” When is a good time? Like alcohol how do you hit bottom? Some when they are spending too much money on it/ first dui/divorce/lose house/lose kids/skid row bum/dead. Smokers – First bronchitis attack/first pneumonia/ lung disease/oxygen/cancer/dead. What is my bottom for cigs? When I tried to quit it was like a dry drunk – miserable – more patches –inhalers etc. I deprive myself, force it. I’d always smoke again. Like I was in control. I think I always knew I couldn’t quit but I would never admit it. Step One. We admitted we were powerless over alcohol-our lives had become unmanageable.

  • 1.      Dr. Expenses
  • 2.       Missing work
  • 3.      Can’t breathe
  • 4.      Cough so hard it hurts
  • 5.      Have lung disease
  • 6.      Pay $3 a pack $6 a day $42 a week $168 a month. Wow, I could join the gym!
  • 7.      Burn holes in everything. Antique linen table cloth
  • 8.      My house, clothes, car, breath stink
  • 9.      My teeth are yellow and falling out, gum disease
  • 10.   Osteoporosis
  • 11.   Emphysema-lung disease-COPD
  • 12.   Adam’s Spontaneous Pneumothorax – Second hand smoke?
  • 13.   It controls me – Inconvenient – go outside, stop & get more, don’t run out.


Leave a Reply

