A Post from my Son on Smoking


Smoke Free 80 Days!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

Nicotine is a drug used for relaxation, no? Nicotine is a drug used as sustenance due to frequent situations where one is expected to behave well beyond the so-called ‘rational’ task, to deal with the more than the expected……and only to those addicted. To others such a task is normal and easy without any chemical help. To those addicted, it is a staple of life.

I want to see Nicotine as a ‘drug of relief’ instead of a ‘drug of sustenance’ (AKA ‘BECAUSE I HAVE TO’ ). Thus, due to my stubbornness and my expectations of being perfect, I will only be smoking one pack per day from this day on, down from two packs per day. I got off work at 9:30 PM. It is 12:26 AM now, and I’ve had three smokes since then, the normal sum is around 15 smokes, amazing?….and it doesn’t bug me. Thus, why should the force of habit make me smoke when my natural dependence to nicotine doesn’t even WANT it? Answer: I shouldn’t. I should only ‘use’ such a ‘drug’ when I ‘need’ to.

I may never ‘need’ to….but it’s a step towards a future smoke-free life. I should never ‘need’ anything besides myself and those close to me, but the word ‘need’ is almost synonymous with the word ‘want’……Do I want what I need, or do I need what I want? One way to tell, and I’m trying to figure out that question by literally cutting my smoking in half.

This work is released to the public domain. I hold no copyrights, and no rights reserved.

One Response to “A Post from my Son on Smoking”

  1. Joe Camel Says:

    Tobaccco is the best antidepressant known to man and therefore the world’s most valuable drug. Big Pharma owns the mass media and most politicians, so you never hear this from them. They want to sell a daily handful of prescription drugs at ten prices.

    You will not realize any advantage from quitting or cutting down on smoking, Give it a try if you don’t believe it.


Leave a Reply

