Cutting back on Chantix


Smoke Free 119 days!

Yes, it is hard to believe it has been almost four months without a single puff of a cigarette. I have to thank God and Chantix for this is truly a miracle.

Today I cut my Chantix 1mg pill in half and am going to take 1/2 mg for at least four weeks maybe more. The reason I am cutting back is because of the fatigue I am feeling. In the beginning when I first started taking it the first week or so, I felt like I had the flu. I was achy all over and felt like I couldn’t get off the couch. That is part of the reason why I have only taken one 1mg pill in the morning during the last four months. When I was taking it as directed, two 1 mg pills, 1 in the morning and 1 at night, it was way to much for me to handle. I was depressed and tired all the time, could not sleep at all and just felt ‘weird’. After the first couple of weeks on one 1mg pill in the morning, I felt pretty good, not to crazy and I was still not smoking.

Lately, I have noticed when I go to the gym, or walk for long distances, or run up three flights of stairs, I am exhausted and weak. My muscles are weak. I don’t have the strength I had even back in January and February. I haven’t read anything about Chantix effecting your muscles or joints, but I am going to do some research on it. Of course I am worried about it because I have been on the Chantix longer than the suggested twelve weeks.

I will see my Doctor tomorrow and discuss this with him. Leave me a comment if you have had a similar experience with Chantix. I don’t like feeling lazy all the time.

Sphere It Sphere It Content


AddThis Feed Button

Leave a Reply

