Sarah Palin and Tina Fey SNL Skit; Not Fair to Women


“I think it’s really sad that in America, just because a woman is running for a high office, we have to make fun of her on Saturday Night Live. There is a black person on SNL, why aren’t they making fun of Obama? Because he is black, that’s why. It makes me so mad.” This is a quote from a 21 year old female college student who happens to be my daughter. Wow! Now that is an opinion!

It happens to be an opinion I agree with as a 51 year old woman. What the heck is going on here? Why is this okay?? I have to admit that Tina Fey is pretty funny doing the Sarah Palin Impressions but why isn’t anyone impersonating Obama? Now I think that would be hillarious!!

I don’t watch SNL but I did see replays on the news, (even that is pathetic). Now whenever I see Sarah Palin speak, I can’t help but think of Tina Fey, who has all the mannerisms down pat, and then I start to laugh and even I have a hard time  taking Mrs. Palin seriously. I have to agree with my daughter, not only is it sad, but it does make me mad. And it should make every mother in America mad. How will our daughters ever be taken seriously if we just write off every woman trying to make a change in this country as a bimbo? I can only hope next time there’s a serious female candidate running for a high office, we can get beyond the sexism and look at content of character. Why is it so many people have gotten past the racism with Obama, but can’t get past the sexism with Palin?

I understand that she is green. She does not have the experience she needs to answer the tough questions being thrown at her by the press. I’d like to have seen them ‘hounding’ Obama in the begining or even now. Oh, that’s right. They can’t because then it would be ‘racist.’

Okay, the game is over. It is time for us to get serious about who is going to be running this country for the next four years.

2 Responses to “Sarah Palin and Tina Fey SNL Skit; Not Fair to Women”

  1. Timmy Gibbler Says:

    They have parodied Obama, but he has little to parody. Sarah Palin is an idiot, plain and simple. She’s a joke.

  2. Cassandra Says:

    Obama is has plenty of idiotic behaviors and thoughts that can be portrayed on SNL. The problem is SNL is full of actors, and actors tend to be the most liberal people on the planet ( notice some of the richest too hmmm go figure).

    Yes I agree , its ridiculous in the year 2008 women are still be trashed. It shows you how far we have NOT come when a woman still gets treated worse then a “minority”…
    After all it did take women 50 more years to have the right to vote..

    How come liberals never made fun of MRS Clinton??
    hmm racist, gender biased group is what I say!


Leave a Reply

